I’ve seen a lot of subscription business reporting revenue as a lumps sum, i.e. “total sales”. This will not help you manage a subscription business. Using the MRR model is the ONLY way you can see if your subscribers are growing, upgrading or churning. So make sure you do this. If you need help setting this up, please reach out to me.
New MRR is the simply the revenue from new customers, not existing subscribers who stay on their subscription plan, ONLY new subscribers.
Practically, you will just sum new revenue from all new subscribers who signed up for the monthly plan, from your CRM system or payment service.
NB: If you have annual subscription plans ($900/yr), then these needs to be spread (normalized) across 12 months.
Example: in “Month 1” you might have gained 50 new subscribers: 40 subscribers on a monthly plan ($100/mo) and 10 subscribers on an annual plan ($900/yr)